Here Now

As I tell the kids, “I’m not very important but I’m damn busy.” These are the things that are trending in the World of Elroy-

  • The Wedding with the internet conspiracy involving Kate Unger, Saks, and unidentified undercover fashion operatives who are trying to drive me crazy in the search for an age appropriate dress. I spent 8 hours, alone, with the bride. I like her very much (again). She is beautiful in THE DRESS, more beautiful than any bride I’ve seen anywhere else in magazines or on film. I think you know how I feel about the excessive pageantry as well as the patriarchal symbolism of the entire affair but I’ve had my turn so I’ll do my part to make sure the kids have theirs.
  • A psychic who said quite a lot to the happy couple and revealed some things that he couldn’t have known about.
  • Intrigue and espionage in the business world, can’t say much now but would like you to know that good guys win. Appalled at the way the tax code is structured to encourage borrowing.

Unfortunately not all of the young people in my life are happy. I found it necessary to post this on my fb page-
Mum used to tell us girls when we were young and heartbroken, “For every man who goes astray, there’s another man another day.” She was right and now I offer the very same adage to the heartbroken girls in my life.
To borrow Martin Briley’s immortal words- “He ain’t worth the salt in your tears.”

Love is NOT drunken black-outs and recriminations.
Love is sacrifice and responsibility, sharing the load, growing together to reach combined dreams.
Love is kindness and consideration. It’s trust and admiration, it’s respect and loyalty. It’s comfort when people die, it’s joy in celebration.
Love is NOT a meal ticket. It’s hard work and devotion.
Love is accountability. It’s more than wanting to be a good person because the person you love brings out the best in you, it’s being your best possible self, day in and day out, even when you don’t feel like it. It’s taking one for the team over and over and over again because the team is bigger, better, and stronger when two people contribute to it.
If it makes you feel bad about who you are and what you’re doing, it isn’t love. Believe it.

Back to work, can’t wait until the dust settles late this fall and I can get back to reading and writing.  Miss you.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Human Condition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Here Now

  1. jatwood4 says:

    Insightful — your gift of wording ideas in just the right way shines clearly in this post. Nice to hear from you!

    • elroyjones says:

      Hi Judith, you took a long break for a while too. I hope things have greatly improved and the sun is shining where you are.

      • jatwood4 says:

        Things have improved markedly — or else I am handling things better. My time off was very valuable — I learned some good lessons about myself. The sun is shining brightly, and the temp is 77℉. Yay Spring!!

  2. hanslr says:

    And we do miss your posts, Elroy, but understand the predicament. This post was worth waiting for. Cheers!

  3. Wait… are you now a believer in psychics?

    • elroyjones says:

      Well, that depends on if there is an eagle at the wedding. If there is an eagle, I’m in, no eagle and I will have saved myself 70 bucks.

      • You could bring an eagle…

      • maesprose says:

        Oh no – now what are you going to do! You might want to ask about the rock.

      • elroyjones says:

        We got final Planning Board approval for the rock last Wednesday. We’re building a commercial building there with a LOFT apartment upstairs for my husband and me. It will blend in with the land and we will be good stewards and neighbors. I am so excited, Mae. We’ve worked very hard to make it all come together. I am going to the psychic to see what happens.

  4. Relieved to hear the World of Elroy is still peopled by shady characters, full of intrigue and questionable behavior, and of course your kind and gentle reaction to it all.

    • elroyjones says:

      You make me laugh, out loud, in the kindest and gentlest of ways. How do the shady characters find me, am I cursed? I just want some damn peace but NO.

  5. Pingback: Saga Concludes | elroyjones

Leave a Reply

