Lean On

My how things have changed. Admittedly, I have always been somewhat unorthodox. I am missing the mani-pedi gene. I remember the freezing cold, startlingly bright, sunny February day when we got married. I was standing on a corner outside the bank on a downtown city street waiting for my future husband to meet me so we could go to the JP. I was afraid he’d change his mind. He appeared and we got married. The taxi driver was my witness. The JP was long winded and we smirked and leaned toward each other exerting a little pressure at our opposing shoulders because we knew what we knew and we didn’t care to listen to anyone blather on. We went back to my apartment and I threw up from nerves. My husband made me ginger-ale and vanilla ice cream to soothe my upset stomach. I knew I’d married the right man. He packed to go offshore. No muss no fuss.
Tomorrow there will be a big extravaganza, grand entrances and processionals, thousands of dollars spent for a single day’s indulgence in a world of pretend. There have been temper tantrums galore to match ridiculous excess. I wonder how, or if, they’ll know they’ve chosen the right person to lean on through the march of time?

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lean On

  1. Old Jules says:

    They’ll think they have most likely. Afterward if they change their minds they can apply for a refund. It’s a good day for a party. Jack

  2. maesprose says:

    You have picked the right person and in the end, that is what matters in your storyline. The bride and groom are building their own future beginning with a different base altogether. As Jack says above, it’s a good day for a party. Congratulations to all – the old bride and groom as well as the new.

  3. The whole wedding day thing is getting out of hand… it makes lots of money for the people who run them. Of course, now that my daughter is sort of starting her own wedding planning business, I should shut up now… good post.

  4. El Guapo says:

    Regardless of how it starts, I hope they have a wonderful life together!
    (Though I’m not a fan of the big production wedding either.)

    • elroyjones says:

      It is astonishing to me that there have been such tantrums from both members of the happy couple. I wonder if there is love for the person or if it’s love of the production. I hope in their private moments they will look at each other and know they made the right choice.

  5. epiwah says:

    Sometimes you have to believe the word fun as you say it. Have faith or pretend to or die trying that’s what I say. Have fun!

    • elroyjones says:

      It all worked out just fine in the end. Everyone enjoyed themselves. There was a certain amount of intrigue swirling around the younger generation, particularly the single ones who’d had a little bit too much to drink. We were home and in bed when all the interesting stuff happened.

Leave a Reply

