Saga Continues

Okay, I’ll say it just once for posterity’s sake. I am stubborn sometimes, and resistant, and rigid, and possibly mistaken but there is no definitive evidence to suggest that I am wrong.

Rehearsal dinner was an inclusive success. As you know, I harbor reserves of resentment at being thrust into a parental role after I made it very clear that I had no desire to participate in that arena. Oh trust me, it’s an arena all right. I always forget that I am intimidating because everyone thinks I am right. I suspect it’s in the presentation.

The original mother approached our table, which was next to her table. I pretended to be otherwise occupied- whatever, it wasn’t an actual snub. Fortified by what must have been quite a few glasses of wine, she made her approach. She thanked me for being good to her boys, thanked me for hosting the dinner, thanked me for who knows what all else. I hugged her as I told her it was a special weekend in her life and I hoped she enjoyed every minute of it.

Our guests were finally seated. I am the public speaker in our unorthodox family so I rose and began wandering around as I made the toast- “Hi, thank you all for coming to celebrate with the happy couple. A special, heartfelt thank you to Charles and Lenore Waverly for hosting tomorrow’s ceremony and reception. Annie and Adam wouldn’t be at this moment in their lives without their mothers, Lenore and Delia and their dads, Charles and Beauregard. A year ago the wedding was just a dream, tomorrow it will be a dream come true. Ladies and gentlemen please raise your glasses to the bride and groom!”

It was short and sweet. I practiced for an entire week. I wanted to do the right thing and set the tone for a lovely wedding for those two spoiled rotten, selfish, kids. MY stepson beamed from ear to ear. He was relieved that I did the right thing in accepting his mom’s overture. His mother had tears in her eyes. I don’t like being in this position but I can rise above it.

Today will be a fine day.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saga Continues

  1. Doing something we don’t want to do and doing it well is what sets us apart from the animals… maybe…

  2. maesprose says:

    I’m thrilled for you…. hope you are having a blast at this very moment… Fingers crossed the rain avoided the party.

  3. well done – way better than I could do 😉

Leave a Reply

