Kayla’s Letters 12.26.15

12.26.2015

Dear Kayla,

Yesterday was Christmas. Michelle was here with us. We watched a documentary, “Oxyana” about Oceana, West Virginia. A large percentage of the population is addicted to opioids. When people die from an OD it’s called oxycuted as in, “He was oxycuted.” One man killed his adult son and his wife, who had MS, over the wife’s prescriptions…then he shot himself. He should have shot himself first.

After Joe died I said I would not do this again. I said I would not extend myself for an addict. Please go to meetings. Living a life of desperation, existing from one fix to the next, is not really living. For yourself, Kayla, get clean for yourself. You can do it; I know you can.

Each day is a fresh start on a happy ending.

She continued to write to me and to ask for deposits to her jail account as well as for subscriptions to magazines and for me to print coloring pages. I printed the coloring pages. Her family culture is not one of altruism.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

