Creative Developments

I’ve never owned a home or real estate. Well, almost never, after Mum died I owned the house we grew up in and a time share, with my siblings, until we sold them. I’ve never wanted to possess a title to anything. I’m just that way, less stuff= less diligence. Somehow, my husband, whom I love more than air, conned me into thinking acquisition would be a good strategic plan. We took on a huge warehouse project, made loads of mistakes, had an epic disagreement about my beloved trash can v. a receptacle in the kitchen cabinets. We worked together and this is how it turned out.
IMG_1183IMG_1108 IMG_1181I LOVE the looooong hall closet. I suspect my husband does not. As you might imagine, I don’t care. It makes sense for the future use of this building, after we kick the bucket and the kids sell. If we had traditional bedroom closets in an industrial building the living quarters wouldn’t be as easily adapted for commercial use. In my vision, easy-peasy, disassemble the cable system and there is a ton of space available for a variety of activities.
IMG_1182The bathroom is simple. We have two single vanities because I do not share very well and because a double vanity is considerably more expensive. There is no additional resale value in an industrial building with expensive bathroom fixtures. My husband is brilliant, he solved the vanity dilemma by suggesting two singles- a metaphor for how we began.
IMG_1123 IMG_1165This is where I am this very moment. It is maybe a spare bedroom- no bed, gave that to one of the “boys” friends, who impregnated a young woman in a one night stand, much drama, baby coming, no bed. The room functions as the finance office and my personal space. It soothes my gypsy soul.
IMG_1153 IMG_1180 IMG_1184 IMG_1185 This is our bedroom. I wanted to leave the walls unadorned so it would be calming and restful. My husband thought it had a vintage asylum ambiance and requested some color. I added the line of nature photographs, we took, so he’d be happy and quiet. He was right, looks better his way. A ceiling fan is a friend to a woman of a certain age… .
IMG_1106 IMG_1177The living room is a little bit of a hodge podge. I hope to be finished with it before fall. We need more plants everywhere.
IMG_1171 IMG_1172 IMG_1175 IMG_1176The kitchen, adjoining the living room, is my favorite place in the morning.

I love this place, in the same way I loved coloring when I was a small kid. I love it because we worked hard and we did it. It was fun to finish.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Creative Developments

  1. Peggy says:

    Gorgeous O&D! It so reflects your taste. Love all the natural wood and white walls. Especially love the idea of the small curtain rod holding the sun catchers. Will steal that idea. Would it be fair to compare the long hallway to a shotgun house?

    • elroyjones says:

      Yes, shotgun house inspiration exactly! Thought of having one room lead to the next much like a shotgun design but needed more privacy and less peering.

  2. John says:

    Wonderful! So glad it’s finished … you did a fantastic job!

  3. maesprose says:

    I love it! You are so far along…. I still have boxes!

    • elroyjones says:

      I have some things that don’t belong where they are still. You’re always traveling for work, Mae, no wonder you still have boxes. I live where I work.

Leave a Reply

