Deck Visions

Remember how things were going to change and I was going to establish an immediate policy whereby I became a union of 1 commandeering the executive offices, leisurely wasting time celebrating obscure holidays? Yeah, well, not so much.

The first month or so here at Hippy Hall was spent working and settling in, sometimes all 24 hours in the day. I managed to put my back out twice (go ME!) but I strapped one of those lumbar belts on and kept right on groaning going. My husband was worried and  wasted a lot of time prohibiting me from doing thus and such, oh whatever. I waited until he wasn’t paying attention and got right back up on a ladder. No, I don’t want help, I want to do it mySELF so it comes out the way I want it to.

While all that was happening, I decided we would start watching CBS Sunday Morning again. We used to watch it religiously while we had a nice, big, leisurely, breakfast, when we were newlyweds. After the new policy was implemented, I watched it a few times by myself while my husband worked on something or other. I can’t say I actually sat down to watch but I did listen.

The CBS Sunday Morning plan wasn’t embraced quite the way I intended. You know how I am, tenacious! New plan- Morning Contemplation! Stellar Idea! It will catch on, people will love it and adopt it as their very own. It’s pretty simple really, wait until I’m alone 5:30 or 6A, enjoy some coffee while I watch the sun rise and acknowledge my good fortune…every day.

It hasn’t been every day but it has been many of them. Now the sun rises while both of us are still here in the morning and we enjoy it together. I think that counts. Here are some of the most interesting ones.

IMG_1122 IMG_1126 IMG_1143My husband says the last one looks like Gawd, I know what he means.

I LOVE it here. I work sometimes until 10 or 11 at night, after beginning the day at an uncivilized hour. I want my husband to love it too. It’s hard for him to admit that he does. I coaxed it out of him once, he loves it here. He’s of the school, where it’s forbidden to just be and enjoy, without worrying. I studied elsewhere. I LOVE it here, love it, skip down the hall just happy to be alive. I’ll LOVE it as long as I’m here and if for some unthinkable reason I cannot stay, it will be fine because I LOVE it here now.

We collaborate with a company from time to time. The man who owns the business told my husband that he cut his grass using his headlights, to see after dark, when he got home from work. That isn’t going to be us. We’re going to have our supper on the deck, every nice evening until cold weather arrives next fall, and we’re going to LOVE it.

IMG_1133IMG_1173

 

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deck Visions

  1. Peggy says:

    That is amazing! There’s nothing like a great sunrise or sunset to make you feel grateful to be alive. It is very, very spiritual and so much better than the tv (no offense to CBS).

  2. hanslr says:

    Hi Elroy: Creative Developments and Deck Visions were both very welcome reads and it is great to see you writing, again. Even though we are much further apart now, your writing continues to resonate with me. Keep it up but, of course, only when you have that spare moment!

    • elroyjones says:

      Linda, very good to hear from you! Yes, spare moments, I’ve decided to requisition them from elsewhere until I’ve accumulated enough of them to do some of the things I like to do.

  3. hanslr says:

    Not to mention the great pics, especially that loooooong hall…..we had one like that in the house in ME!

Leave a Reply

