Kayla’s Letters 12.30.2015

12.30.2015

Dear Kayla,

I think of you and I try to remember things I felt at your age and how I reacted to situations to see what I learned that may be helpful to you.

It’s taken me a long time to identify precisely where my happiness comes from. At your age I was influenced by what the rest of the world told me I should want. Satisfaction doesn’t come from stuff, it comes from inside. It’s the feeling of accomplishment you get from completing something very difficult, like going through withdrawals for 8 days and coming out on the other side to say, “I did it!”

People are happiest when they have a purpose and achieve objectives. I’m not especially fond of dusting the ceiling fan and the woodwork in fact I loathe doing it but once it’s done I feel a sense of accomplishment. At work, I dread the year end accounting that I have to do, it takes a while and it’s tedious but when it’s complete I feel happy.

On a personal level, I find delight in knowing that I have done something right to connect with someone and maybe lighten their load just a little bit. I felt that way when I received your letter. It’s the little things. The little things are what keep us chugging along; knowing that we are making a difference to someone somewhere, that somebody out there hears us and cares.

I found a cool little paperweight when Michelle and I went to Blue Hill one day last summer it says- BE GOOD, BE TRUE, BE REAL, BE YOU. That sums it up, be good inside and do what you know is right, be true don’t compromise your integrity, be real fill your life with sincerity, and be YOU because your genuine self is the person people want to know. Don’t waste your time trying to be someone other than who you are.

We all have a choice every day in how we greet the world. I like to anticipate success. I’ve found that most people will sink to my suspicions or rise to my expectations. You are rising Kayla, there’s nowhere to go but up.

Each day is a fresh start on a happy ending.

About elroyjones

Married, no children, responsibly self-directed, living happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

